How Crazy Can It Get?

Worldwide Telescope goes Silverlight

Wow! If you have Silverlight installed then Worldwide Telescope will now work in IE 8 (and whatever else you have Silverlight installed in) without having to install the binary! Very nice! I’ve been using this for a while, but I had to install it. This is great! So even our Mac using friends can enjoy this fine software.

Click on this link to try it out!  http://www.worldwidetelescope.org/webclient/

image

Use the number pad “+“ and “-“ to zoom in and out. Drag the mouse to move the through the sky. Hold the “cntl” key while dragging to rotate. And shift click objects to get details. Use the “Esc” key to escape or get out of something. I haven’t figured out how to orbit yet. But, once I do, I’ll update here. Try the tours too. There great!

 

 

9 responses

  1. Mandy

    That is really cool, it worked on my PC, using chrome browser.

    March 28, 2009 at 2:19 am

  2. Jeffrey

    @Mandy:Thanks for that! Because of your suggestion, I just tried it in Firefox. It works there too. Didn\’t realize that Silverlight worked on those platforms too. That\’s excellent!

    March 28, 2009 at 5:23 am

  3. Mandy

    Actually I was quite surprised too, some things don\’t work in Chrome, for instance, my blog page background pic, Moon and seascape, loads for about a second then disappears, when I\’m on chrome!

    March 28, 2009 at 5:30 am

  4. Michael

    That is amazing. I hope to see Microsoft continue to work with NASA to get more imagery.

    March 28, 2009 at 11:43 am

  5. Jeffrey

    I think the imagery comes from lots of places. Note that all the views are not just optical . Try the WMAP view or the infrared ones. VERY KEWL! Excellent application! I love it. Going over to see my niece tonight and going to teach her to use this app. She\’s a PC and she\’s 8.

    March 28, 2009 at 6:00 pm

  6. Jen

    I did have it for a while and loved playing with it but it seemed to eat up resources so I popped it off again after about two or three months. There are some gorgeous pictures on there.

    March 29, 2009 at 8:22 am

  7. T8tube.com

    good

    March 30, 2009 at 1:28 am

  8. Happy

    I don\’t get a peek. Request for my ancient (preMayan) computer to get more storage. Too bad. Sometimes wish technological innovaions would remember people who are a) not geeks, b) have equipment from previous century and c) would enjoy a simplified version. Once I went looking for LiveCam aurora (North or South) for classroom and one promising site needed something-or-other which we just didn\’t have. Anyway I bet it\’s all beautiful. Thanks for resource sharing!

    March 30, 2009 at 10:42 pm

  9. Jeffrey

    @Happy: Everyone is asked to add more memory. It just means the app uses more that the normal amount for a browser application. Try answering yes, and it\’ll probably work for you! Anyway, it isn\’t asking you to get more memory for your computer. Rather, it is asking your permission to add additional memory for it to use. try it. See if it works. You may like this app.

    March 30, 2009 at 10:46 pm

Leave a Reply

